PAC•ROD 3-in-1 Wine Tool

So, this product is a 3-in-1 wine tool that is supposed to Pour, Aerate and Chill. While in fact, it does do a great job of pouring, I wasn’t fully impressed by the aerating, and was disappointed by the “chilling.”

I left the chill rod in the freezer overnight. The next day, I grabbed a bottle of wine from the store off the shelf and waited until my fiance got home to record my adventure, because I was thrilled! Then I stuck the chill rod in my wine and let it sit for 10 minutes. I came back and measured the temperature difference (with my Chef Remi Digital Thermometer) and it had dropped a little over one degree. Sad panda (and embarrassed because I was on video) doesn’t even begin to describe it. So I made another video, with red wine, to demonstrate the pouring with it. I will say, it is easy to pour. It would do an ok job of aerating wine, which is fine since whites and most soft reds don’t actually need to be, so all and all, I can’t actually recommend this product. The good thing though, Practico Kitchen makes loads of other helpful tools that won’t be leaving my kitchen anytime soon. **Pratipads**

I received this product in exchange for by unbiased opinion, and am sorry to report I would avoid purchase. =(

Leave a Reply

